An Introduction

Greetings All-

Thank you for finding your way to my blog.

I am a veterinarian, originally from Bellerose, NY. From a very young age I knew I wanted to work with animals. I was lucky enough to gain great experience during high school with a veterinary hospital in my neighborhood. From there, I studied Animal Science at Cornell University. During my time there I was able to work in the College of Veterinary Medicine. I also gained great experience working with horses at a friend’s farm. After graduating from Cornell, I attended Ross University School of Veterinary Medicine on the island of St. Kitts in the Caribbean. I then did a clinical year at Purdue University.

After graduation, I took a job at a mixed animal practice in Columbia County, NY. There I predominately worked on small animals (dogs, cats), but also gained great experience with horses, sheep and other animals. This combination of species allowed me to gain a better understanding of sports injuries and lameness problems in both horses, as well as dogs. I practiced there for 3 1/2 years, and then moved to Albany, NY. There I received advanced training in orthopedic surgery, as well as being certified in veterinary rehabilitation.  I continued to do general practice work, and helped the hospital to expand it’s capabilities in emergency medicine and surgery. The majority of my time was spent working in the Rehabilitation Department. There I worked with licensed veterinary technicians who were also certified in rehab. We would work together to diagnosis and treat patients with any multitude of conditions. We worked on patients with bulging discs in their back and neck. Some of these patients were referred for surgery, and then we helped them post-op to learn how to walk again. Others had already had surgery and needed assistance. Many did not have surgery, but still needed appropriate case management in their recovery process. Many of the neurological patients were treated on an outpatient basis, but I also managed many that would stay in the hospital for months at a time, until they were able to be home. I also worked with orthopedic patients, either those that I had done surgery on, or diagnosed their conditions.

Other patients came from neighboring hospitals, either after surgery or for case management. I would also see patients as a second opinion for injuries and conditions that had not yet been diagnosed or treated. I found these cases particularly interesting, a puzzle to be solved. That is one of the many things I enjoy about veterinary medicine, my patients may not be able to tell me what their problem is, but it requires a team effort on the aprt of the owners, technicians and myself to help them. And as you will see, not all patients read the textbooks.

Recently, I have decided to relocate my practice. I am considering my options in the NYC and Long Island area. I hope to bring my experience and skills to a new set of clients and patients, and to continue learning new ways to help them.

This point of this blog is to share some of my experiences in veterinary medicine, to give insight to problems and to let people know that there are sometimes more options than you know about. Please realize that I can not diagnose or prescribe treatment for any condition over the internet. Also, always check in with your veterinarian with regards to your pet’s specific needs.

Thank you,

Matt Brunke, DVM, CCRP

Leave a Reply

